Thankful

First of all: Happy Thanksgiving, friends! I hope you are all enjoying the holiday, in whatever way is meaningful to you. Thanksgiving has always, always been my most favorite of days. Typically, we visit my family in Virginia, which is so special because it is the only time of year that we all get together in one place. I honestly feel like every year, I have even more blessings to count than the year before. This year is no exception, and I truly believe I am the luckiest person in the world. Sure, in a perfect world there are things I might change about my life, but if we choose to look at our lives from a perspective of thankfulness, it is so much easier to be happy and grateful and satisfied.

Along those lines, I spoke earlier this week about our struggles with Kingston’s separation anxiety. Well, I actually flew down to Virginia on Sunday, while Jonathan stayed in Pennsylvania with all of the pups. He just drove down to meet me last night, with Tonka and Kingston as his copilots (Gaige and Georgia stayed home with our awesome pet sitter). I have to be honest friends… until they finally arrived, I had been experiencing some pretty strong separation anxiety of my own! This is the first time visiting my family without either my own pups or my parents’ dogs around. However, as the saying goes, how lucky am I to have someone to love, who makes saying goodbye so hard? It certainly makes for super-sweet reunions. Can you all remind me of these words when it comes time to say goodbye to Kingston? Ugggggh.

Here are some photos of our time together thus far. For the record, Kingston helped us rescue a little lost Shi Tzu we found during our morning walk. The poor thing had just had surgery and had the cone to prove it!

Happy Thanksgiving, friends 🙂 I hope you know how thankful I am for all of you.

20131128-124027.jpg
He was enthralled by the dog show… Maybe his vision isn’t as poor as we thought!

20131128-124132.jpg
Even the pups have place cards!

20131128-124235.jpg
ALL of the boys practicing their knife skills.

20131128-124340.jpg
My mom is a professional dog spoiler… She calls them her grand puppies!

20131128-124439.jpg

7 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Happy Thanksgiving from our 5 (our 5th is a foster and a Pittie too). Kingston and Pup have extra reasons to be grateful this year and isn’t it the best feeling knowing the differences brought to their worlds just gets better each day!

  2. My mom calls my dogs grandpuppies too! I get separation anxiety from my dogs also, even if I go out for the day! I’ve been having on-going negotiations this week about bringing them on our Christmas trip:/

The best part about blogging? Feedback from people like you!

