Soul Mates

Call me crazy, but I believe, in my heart of hearts, that we meet people for a reason. Some may just be shooting stars; a fleeting glimpse of ideals, meant to remind you of the things you needed to remember. Occasionally, these people may stay for a lifetime, a constant source of inspiration or drive. Rarer still, are the people that are our soul mates. It’s not often that I find people that remind me of myself, while still inspiring me to reach for more. In fact, up until this point, there was like one, one other person in the entire world that reminds me of myself. (She knows who she is!)

Anyways, as crazy as it might seem, I kind of have come to the conclusion that our three dogs are soul mates. We have three pups, whose backgrounds are all a little bit different, and yet they get along perfectly. There’s Tonka, the happy-go-lucky people-pleaser (and they say dogs are like their owners… psh.) Anyways, he was a dog park-dog, one that could make friends with even the most impolite of pups. Then, he was attacked by a male labrador three times in one summer, and he started to be tense and defensive around all dogs. It took us a while to get him to be calm and relaxed around other dogs again. While I know he will never be as carefree as before, I can trust him to be the mediator in dog groups, and know that he loves nothing more than a good romp in the yard with other well-mannered dogs.

DSC_0074

Then came Gaige, who probably had little to no socialization before I found her. She has great manners within the hierarchy of our dogs, but can be a wild-child (read: annoying) when it comes to playing with new dogs. She gets way too wound-up and excitable, and loves to play rough. For those reasons, she typically only gets to play with our dogs, or other dogs that I’ve slowly introduced her to, and that have complimentary play styles. She and Tonka grew into great friends, who were never far from one another.

DSC_0316

Finally there is Georgia. Most of you know her story, but after a troubled past, she was not fond of other dogs. She would wag her tail from afar, seemingly wanting to join in on the fun, but if they came close, she would sometimes snap or growl. Even given perfect opportunities, Georgia never actually tried to bite other dogs, but she was careful to remind them to keep their distance. Everyone told me that she would be best in a home without other dogs, but I just knew that if we could show her that our dogs would not harm her, she might just gain confidence from a relationship with them. After months of slowly reinforcing her positive associations with our dogs, we finally began to see sparks of companionship between the three of them.

DSC_0030

For the longest time, we were most concerned about the females getting along, but it has come about that the two girls are pretty much inseparable. They sleep curled against one another, share toys, and are a speedy team on adventures through the woods in search of moles sticks. I’ve never had a sister, but I am so enjoying watching the bond these two share. For as many times as we have grown frustrated with Gaige, while playing rough or being demanding or getting into everything, she has been a wonderful playmate for Georgia… slowly pulling her out of her shell, all the while reading her body language and responding accordingly. More importantly, even when Georgia occasionally ‘shot her down’ with a growl or snap in the early days, Gaige would respectfully give her some space, only to return a few hours later to delicately try again. I think I have something to learn from her indomitable spirit…

"There is nothing more beautiful than the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shoreline, no matter how many times it is sent away." - Sarah Kay

“There is nothing more beautiful than the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shoreline, no matter how many times it is sent away.” – Sarah Kay

What is one of the most lasting lessons your dog(s) has taught you? Another giveaway is in the works for your response 🙂 Jennifer Jacobs Scarry, please email me at sel1490@gmail.com to claim your prize from the last giveaway! It might look something like this…

DSC_0003

Many thanks to Two Hounds Designs for their generous contributions!

8 thoughts on “Soul Mates

  1. I love the quote about the ocean too!
    My foster pup Dillon will always have a special place in my heart. I know that he came into my life for a reason, and I was able to love and spoil him for his last few months on earth. Dillon taught me that life is worth living, regardless of how short that time may be. He made a difference. He was quickly deteriorating from a spinal/ neurological issue. But every single person who saw him and had the pleasure of meeting him, left with a special memory. He didn’t live past his first birthday, but he lived and loved his life until he couldn’t any longer. So for my Silly Dilly, thank you for teaching me that every life is worth living. Thank you for teaching me patience, and compassion. Thank you for teaching me that even a fleeting moment of life can change the world. ❤

  2. I think my pups teach me about unconditional love. It doesn’t matter what they’ve been through in their past; it doesn’t matter if I’m having a bad day, feel fat, or have no make up on. They love me just the same. If our world loved just a little more like dogs do, we would be in a much better place. This is my favorite quote about dogs: “He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog.
    You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat
    of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.”

  3. Oakley constantly reminds me that its the little things in life.. the excitement over a walk, empty peanut butter jar, or simply snuggling in bed.. that make life special.

  4. So wonderful to see your girls enjoying each other’s company and sleeping together, I’m amazed if mine decide to share the same bed (very, very rare) let alone snuggle so close. I love that dogs don’t hold grudges, they live in the moment and we could learn alot from that.

  5. Oh, boy…that picture of your girls snuggling with each other is priceless! As for me, both of my dogs have taught me the importance of finding pleasure in the simplest of things and to fully appreciate what I have in my life now…to no longer spend my time wishing for material things, for more success in my career…to no longer “keep up with the Joneses”. All of that is a waste of time when I could be finding joy in what has been generously given to me already, such as the playtimes I have with Taylor, the beautiful memories I have of Hopper, and the unconditional love of my husband.
    Seriously…why spend the money on therapy when you can just adopt a dog? 😉

  6. Oh boy, how do I narrow it down to just one thing?! Ok, I guess the most lasting lesson I have learned much like Jessica’s above. To love the simple things in life, forgetting about material objects, and always sleep cuddled as close to those you love as you possibly can. And kiss a lot.

The best part about blogging? Feedback from people like you!

