Every Doggy Needs Some Doggy

It has been two weeks since Georgia joined our family, and I think that it is safe to say that she is finally starting to let down her guard and truly settle in. Georgia is such a sweet girl, and loves everyone she meets, but I can’t shake the feeling that she is like a trauma victim. She seems to be enjoying her time here, but also prepared for the inevitable change. This poor girl has never known a truly loving, secure home that didn’t have an expiration date. With every home she has been moved to, she seems to become more restless. Thankfully, this lack of security hasn’t manifested into any negative behaviors, but I can only imagine how Georgia will blossom with a permanent home to call her own.

Yesterday was a very eventful day in our house! In the morning, I went on a walk with Tonka & Georgia. This was the first one without Foster Dad holding Georgia’s leash, so the dogs were in closer proximity. They were perfect!

Excuse the poor quality of my iPhone 4…

Georgia seems to be relaxing more around Tonka, and is learning to enjoy his presence. She has never displayed any aggression towards him, but seemed nervous around him at first. I think that before we know it, the two will be great friends.

Whatcha doin’ back there, Foster Bro?

Poor widdle couch potato was exhausted after our hike!

After dinner, Foster Dad helped make a kong for Miss Georgia! Georgia has some sensitivity to different foods and dyes, so she is on a special diet (just a specific brand of food that can be found at Petsmart). When she is having a reaction to a food, or if she is feeling more nervous than usual, she will lick at her tummy and paws.

Trying to give herself a pedicure!

We wanted to try using a stuffed kong with her, so that when we are gone, she will have something to occupy her time. Georgia made sure to dictate what should be placed inside of the kong…

“Ok now Foster Dad, heavy on the cheese, light on those crunchy orange carrot thingies.”

Georgia offers some closer supervision.

Finally, once that task was complete, we decided that now was as good of a time as any to try clipping her toe nails. This girl was way overdue for a pedicure! Naturally, I made the assumption that because her toes were a bit overgrown, she must not be a fan of the procedure. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Georgia was an angel for her pedicure, letting us clip and trim without any fuss from her. She is just such an easy pup!

If you think you might know someone who would be interested in adopting our sweet girl Georgia, please share her story! Any questions about Georgia or the adoption process can be directed to me (Stephanie!) at sel1490@gmail.com.

13 thoughts on “Every Doggy Needs Some Doggy

  1. Miss Georgia must be a former mama dog! She is sooo cute and my little lady was a mama dog so I tend to gush and mush over the mamas. What a pretty little sweat pea! I love the cupcake collar, too! Where did you get it?

    • You are correct! She was dropped at the shelter with her 8 pups. No more puppies for her, though! And to be honest, the rescue bought it for her, so I will have to ask… but I know that the infamous Serius Republic has some that are similar!

      • Whenever people ask us if Braylon had puppies I have to immediately jump and say, “Not with us!” all defensive. Haha, I should just let go, not everyone needs her rescue story but I remember when we first adopted her and she was much more apparently a former mama I felt like I had to explain to everyone who looked at her that we weren’t the ones who used her for breeding.

  2. Odie likes peanut butter in his kong. Gets one every time I leave the house. My guys think I spoil him, but Odie doesn’t feel spoiled. And Boo and Scout get kitty treats at the same time, so they think it’s a purrfect tradition!

  3. Hi, I saw your blog mentioned on Adventures of a Dog Mom and wanted to check it out – what a great story. So sad for pups that don’t have a forever home! I hope that Georgia finds a place soon and I know she will enjoy her time with you! I am truly blessed to have had a loving home my whole life, so many pups do not!

The best part about blogging? Feedback from people like you!

