A Dog by Any Other Name…

One of the best things about working from home,ย and having a husband who works for a family business on the same property, means that we get to have breakfast or lunch dates some days. ๐Ÿ™‚ This morning over a yummy breakfast of egg sandwiches, fruit, and cheesey hashbrowns, we happened upon today’s blog subject. We were laughing over how many nicknames we have for our dogs. It’s actually pretty embarassing. (Jonathan may or may not have started rapping to Gaige on his way out the door. More on that later…)

Even more strange? As I prepared to type this for the morning, I checked some of my favorite blogs for additional inspiration. It is no secret that one of my favorite blogs, and the one that inspired our journey of fosterhood, is Love & a Six-Foot Leash. Their blog post for today? “What’s in a name?” They talk about their two precious pooches, and the origination & evolution of their names. Theirs was actually the title I had already typed up for today! Too cool… if it is true that great minds think alike, then I am feeling extra bright today ๐Ÿ˜‰ (PS: If you like my blog, please don’t read theirs. You will love it so much that you will feel no need to keep up with ours! I have major blog-envy.)

Anyways, back to the main subject. I am a nickname person. It’s like a ‘thing’ of mine. People, pets, foods… you name it, I probably have some weird name for it. They tend to start as a variation of their given name, and continue to deviate to the more ridiculous. I even call my own parents Mambo and Daflop, and my brother Trevor is T-Bone. Jonathan is J, or Skin, or Bear… I think you get the idea. It is actually one of the first things Jonathan and I had in common. He called me Gwen (as in Stefani) for a solid few weeks before I knew he ‘liked’ me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ As for the dogs? See below…

Handsome Tonka-Tue!

Tonka: Tonka Tue, Tue, Tonkinator, TMan, Tuka. If he is in trouble (which is SO rare, as he is the wonder dog!) he has always been Tonka James. No idea where the middle name came from, but I highly recommend the trend.

Gaige: Jeejer, Weeje, Louise, Weezy (So what if Jonathan stretches this to include “Fo’ sheezy my neezy keep my arms so breezy…”? You didn’t hear that from me. Maybe his new nickname should be J.Z.)

No, he doesn’t love her at all!

It is a wonder that our dogs don’t have split personality disorders! In reality, they come to any name we call them… as long as we are happy when we say it! Jonathan disagrees with my theory, and insists that the more names you have for your dog, the more ways they know you love them! He is such a silly doggy dad.

Do you have nicknames for your pets? If so, what are they? How did they evolve? We’d love to hear your thoughts! As always, thanks for stopping by.

Yeah, he’s a tough guy…

9 thoughts on “A Dog by Any Other Name…

  1. haha this is great!!!!!!!! we do the nicknames too without even realizing. Ranger aka Ears, Mouthy, Ranger Danger, oh and i can’t even tell you the things that just slip off my tongue at any given moment while loving them to death!!!!! Gunner aka brownie, brown dog, gunner funner, gunner bunner, hahaha, buster (given by my dad), goofy, and so on and so on!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    love the post!!!!!!

  2. Abbie is most commonly referred to as Abber Dabbers….I occasionally throw Goofball, cheese head, and Ding Dong in there universally. S likes to call all the dogs “Fluffy” even O’Malley in his minimal hair state. O’Malley, OM, Mr Mal, Mal Mal, Danno, and most commonly “Stinky”. It doesn’t seem to matter does it? They always know you are talking to them!

  3. We have 2 dogs ZORGA aka Junkyard ( refers to her attitude) Knothead (ditto) & our other dog Jazz aka Buddy, but when he’s bad we call him his full name Jazz Bo Jim !!!!!!!!

  4. We have SO many names for the pooches: Tesla – Tessie, Tessie Boo, Boo, Jean, J-dog, TJ, Mama….and when in trouble: Tesla Jean. Ed’s looks similar, Edison – Edi, Edi Monster, Monster, E-Fitz, Bubba, Papa…Edison Fitzgerald.

  5. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: Sprinkler Fun! | And Foster Makes Five

  6. Pingback: One-Year Anniversary | And Foster Makes Five

The best part about blogging? Feedback from people like you!

